I Carry You in My Pocket

Poetry, portfolio

I carry you in my pocket,
Jumbled with keys, loose change, and lint.

Once, you were quiet.
Like a leaf in the summer.
Unconcerned, undeniably ignorant.

And then you grew,
I the princess, you the pea.
A small presence, perhaps,
But growing harder to bear…
You exhumed your roots into me.

Now you scream and shout
LET ME OUT LET ME OUT

I press you deep, deep, into my leg,
Before anybody hears you.
Oh God, God forbid, anyone should hear you.

My fingers and pupils are stained with you.
But when I look, they are clean…
Are you in my hair, my teeth?
I KNOW YOU ARE HERE

Mirror, mirror, tell me true,
Tell me the damned truth.
Please.

“You already know, my darling.
Look, see – and the bees
Nesting in your lungs
Will finally be free.”

Leave a Reply

